Whickham Football Club vs Blyth Spartans



Whickham conceded five second-half goals as National League North side Blyth Spartans were ruthless during their 6-0 win at The First Mortgage Glebe. 

The visitors raced out the blocks and went close to opening the scoring inside the first four minutes of the game through Craig Spooner and Dale Pearson. 

Blyth went ahead on 23 minutes when Jake Orrell fired home from the edge of the area, while the winger was denied by Adam Bartlett just four minutes later. 

Adam Wrightson’s effort whistled over the bar on 37 minutes and Whickham’s first opening of the game arrived a minute later.  

Lee McAndrew’s cross was headed towards goal by Conor Newton, but Mark Foden sprawled across to tip the ball over the bar from point-blank range. 

Just two minutes after sending an effort inches wide of the post, Adam Wrightson doubled Blyth’s advantage when he cut back inside and struck home. 

Blyth had a third goal when Jack Butler stole the ball off the defender, no the edge of the area, and tucked the ball home. Bartlett kept the score at 3-0 with two fantastic saves a minute later. 

Butler produced a clever finish, over the approaching ‘keeper, and more misery was inflicted when substitute Ursene Mouanda lashed home and almost burst the net with his strike. 

With the final kick of the game, Orrell scored his second of the evening. Whickham will have under two days to recover as they take on Northern League Division Two side Birtley Town on Saturday. 

Whickham: Bartlett, McAndrew, Kay, Newton (Peareth, 46), Grieve, Galbraith (Wharrier, 73), Cowburn, Oliver (Collins, 65), Finnigan (Stevens, 46), Pattison, Thear 

Subs Not Used: Lumsden, Bulford  |  Attendance: 350 


Date Time Season
July 18, 2019 7:30 pm 2019-2020


The First Mortgage Glebe


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
Blyth Spartans156

Whickham Football Club

Conor Newton Midfielder
Kieran Galbraith Defender
Tom Howard Defender
Dale Burrell Midfielder
Ross Peareth Midfielder
Tom Scothern Midfielder
Lee McAndrew Forward
Scott Robson Forward
Charlie Exley Defender
Steve Bowey Midfielder
Damien Stevens Forward
Scott McCarthy Forward
Kyle Downey Midfielder
Jack Robson Midfielder
Regan Ward Goalkeeper
Adam Cameron Goalkeeper
Jack Errington Defender
Alex Francis Midfielder
Liam Doyle Midfielder
Jaden Cahill-Taylor Forward
Declan Bisset Midfielder
Zak Atkinson Forward
Lewis McNall Forward
Oliver Leedham Forward
Yellow Cards
Red Cards
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.