Hillfield Swifts vs Whickham Football Club



Whickham scored a late equaliser to come away from their pre-season trip to Scotland with a 4-4 draw against Hillfield Swifts.

Four summer signings were named in Robin Falcus’ starting line-up, with Adam Bartlett, Tom Howard, Lewis Gibbons and Conor Newton all pulling on the Whickham shirt for the first time.

A slow start to the game was punished as Callum Strang put the home side ahead after six minutes and also doubled the lead on 18 minutes.

Matty Pattison drew an excellent save from the ‘keeper on 22 minutes and, despite the striker was tripped up in the penalty area two minutes later, nothing was given.

The former Newcastle United midfielder pulled a goal back for Whickham, just after the half-hour mark, when he found the bottom corner.

Max Cowburn drew the visitors level five minutes later when he curled a free-kick over the wall and past the ‘keeper.

The Swifts restored their lead on the stroke of half-time when another mistake was pounced upon, which allowed Strang to wrap up his hat-trick.

Strang scored his fourth goal on 62 minutes, but the hosts fought back once more. Substitute Kelvin Thear curled into the top corner, four minutes later.

The visitors closed out the game on the front foot and substitute Tom Wharrier bundled the ball home on 85 minutes to ensure Whickham came away with a draw.

Whickham: Bartlett, Howard, Gibbons (Perth, 52), Bennett, Kay, Oliver, Perth (Wharrier, 46), Newton (Cowburn, 75), Pattison (Thear, 46), Stevens (Warriner, 46), Cowburn (McAndrew, 46)

Subs Not Used: Bulford


Date Time Season
July 6, 2019 3:00 pm 2019-2020


Ballast Bank


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoals
Hillfield Swifts314

Whickham Football Club

Conor Newton Midfielder
Kieran Galbraith Defender
Tom Howard Defender
Dale Burrell Midfielder
Ross Peareth Midfielder
Tom Scothern Midfielder
Lee McAndrew Forward
Scott Robson Forward
Charlie Exley Defender
Steve Bowey Midfielder
Damien Stevens Forward
Scott McCarthy Forward
Kyle Downey Midfielder
Jack Robson Midfielder
Regan Ward Goalkeeper
Adam Cameron Goalkeeper
Jack Errington Defender
Alex Francis Midfielder
Liam Doyle Midfielder
Jaden Cahill-Taylor Forward
Declan Bisset Midfielder
Zak Atkinson Forward
Lewis McNall Forward
Oliver Leedham Forward
Yellow Cards
Red Cards
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.